Catalytic Converters

New York Customers, is your Converter Legal? News

New York Customers, is your Converter Legal?

Breaking news on New York’s environmental controls see below for full details.

Beginning June 1, 2013 for the subject model year vehicles, all catalytic converter replacements shall be either an original equipment replacement part or a California certified new aftermarket catalytic converter. Used, salvaged, or recycled catalytic converters cannot be installed after June 1, 2013 on any vehicle.”

Also, “Use of an EPA certified new aftermarket catalytic converter is still permitted on federally certified (not CARB or 50 state) and pre-1993 model year vehicles. Distribution centers located in New York State may continue to supply EPA certified aftermarket catalytic converters for sale outside of New York State.”

For More info please go to http://www.dec.ny.gov/chemical/87411.html for full details or Call 888-OBD-2-CAT for assistance.

Maine is also planning similar regulations, with a June 1, 2013 effective date. The link to their fact sheet is attached below:



June 1, 2013.

Pursuant to 6 NYCRR Part 218

7.2(c)(1) , and effective June 1, 2013, it will be unlawful for any

person to sell, offer for sale, advertise, or install any new aftermarket catalytic converter in New York State that has not been granted an exemption to this law by the California Air Resources Board (CARB).

New aftermarket catalytic converters will be

required to:

Comply with a vehicle’s original emissions certification limits;

  • Be compatible with the onboard diagnostic systems (OBD II) on 1996 and newer vehicles;
  • Be covered by a warranty for a period of 5 years or 50,000 miles of use. The warranty will cover failures
    related to construction defects, performance defects, and OBD II compatibility issues;and,
  • Display a certification stamp or label on the catalytic converter shell. The label or stamp must display
    the CARB Executive Order approval number, the part number, date of manufacture, and proper installation


New York State Environmental Conservation Law under §71 2103 establishes the penalty structure of

Part 218 violations at a minimum of $500 for a first violation, and up to $26,000 for each subsequent violation.

What this means:

A completely different product line of catalytic converters will be necessary to continue sales and installations of
catalytic converters on cars and trucks in the State of New York, just as there has been a “California” line of converters, exempted by Executive Order from the California Air Resources Board since January 1, 2009.




Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *